Skip to main content Skip to footer

No. 2 Long Beach State Prepares For National Championships This Weekend

May 1, 2013

Long Beach, Calif. -

Long Beach State will take its chance to upset top-ranked Pepperdine and earn a National Championship this weekend in Sand Volleyball, traveling to Gulf Shores, Ala. for the three-day event.

The 49ers, seeded second by the AVCA, will receive a first-round bye in the team portion of the national championship which will begin on Friday, May 3 at 10 a.m. ET Long Beach State is scheduled to play the winner of (3) Florida State and (6) Louisiana-Monroe at 5 p.m. ET, with the winner advancing directly to the semifinals. The four losers of the first four matches will then meet in the final two matches on Friday to determine the other teams advancing to the semifinals.

On Saturday, the team championship will be decided, with the semifinals starting at Noon ET and concluding with the championship match at 4:30 p.m. ET. Additionally, the remainder of the pairs championship field will be selected through pool play among the 10 pairs invited that are not members of schools competing for the team championship.

Schools like Long Beach State that are participating in the team championship have automatically had two pairs enter into the pairs national championship. Caitlin Ledoux and Tara Roenicke, 2012 All-Americans, will look to repeat that honor as well as finish off the final step, as the pair lost a heartbreaking three-set match in the national championship one year ago. They will be joined by Delainey Aigner-Swesey and Chelsea Cabrajac, who will also represent the 49ers in the pairs championship.

A 16-team single elimination tournament will be held on Sunday, May 5, beginning at 9 a.m. ET between the qualifying pairs to determine a National Champion in pairs as well. Top performing teams will also be honored with All-American selection following the pairs championship.



The National Championships will be televised on tape delay on CBS Sports Network in three one-hour blocks, beginning on Tuesday, May 21 at 7 p.m. ET, followed directly by an 8 p.m. broadcast. The third block will be shown on Tuesday, May 28 at 8 p.m. ET.

Official Online Store