Skip to main content Skip to footer

Beach Wins Twice To Advance At AVCA National Championships

Chelsea Cabrajac had five aces in the 49ers' opening win against Hawai'i.
May 1, 2015

Gulf Shores, Ala. - The third time was the charm for Long Beach State, as the seventh-seeded 49ers defeated (2) Hawai'i 3-1 to open up an outstanding day at the AVCA National Championships in Gulf Shores, Ala. After their first win, the 49ers defeated (3) Florida International 4-1, and will face (1) USC in the winners bracket championship Saturday morning.

Long Beach State (16-5) got the day off to a great start, taking down No. 2 Hawai'i to open the AVCA Championships. Rachel Nieto and Sammee Thomas started off the match with a straight sets win over Heather Boyan and Lara Schreiber, winning 21-19, 21-18, but the Rainbow Wahine were able to even the match with a third-flight win over Jenelle Hudson and Bre Mackie, as Brown/Rooks won 23-21, 21-15.

All three of the remaining matches went to three sets, but the 49ers won in each of the top flights. Delainey Aigner-Swesey and Chelsea Cabrajac took down Brittany Tiegs and Nikki Taylor 21-17, 19-21, 15-12, and Anete Brinke and Tyler Jackson dropped Katie Spieler and Olivia Urban 21-18, 14-21, 15-12 to close out the upset win for the Beach, as the No. 4 flight was not completed.

Advancing to the second round of the winner's bracket, the 49ers were once again the underdog in seed against Florida International, but it was the Beach that controlled play. Aigner-Swesey and Cabrajac rolled to a 21-19, 23-21 win, in the top flight, and straight set wins at No. 2 from Brinke/Jackson and at No. 3 from Hudson/Mackie clinched the win for Long Beach State.



The Beach continues play Saturday in the dual competition, playing in the winners bracket against (1) USC at 8 a.m. PT. The winner advances to the Championship Match, while the loser will face the winner of the consolation bracket for the right to compete in the Championship Match.

Either way, Friday's competition earned entry into the Pairs Championship for Anete Brinke and Tyler Jackson, who will join Delainey Aigner-Swesey and Chelsea Cabrajac in the 16-team competition on Sunday.

(7) Long Beach State 3, (2) Hawai'i 1
1) Delainey Aigner-Swesey/Chelsea Cabrajac, LBSU def. Brittany Tiegs/Nikki Taylor, UH 21-17, 19-21, 15-12
2) Anete Brinke/Tyler Jackson, LBSU def. Katie Spieler/Olivia Urban, UH 21-18, 14-21, 15-12
3) Hannah Rooks/Sammie Brown, UH def. Jenelle Hudson/Bre Mackie, LBSU 23-21, 21-15
4) Andrea McHugh/Ciana Wagner, LBSU vs. Ka'iwi Schucht/Mikayla Tucker, UH 21-17, 27-29, (Unfinished)
5) Rachel Nieto/Sammee Thomas, LBSU def. Heather Boyan/Lara Schreiber, UH 21-19, 21-18

(7) Long Beach State 4, (3) Florida International 1
1) Delainey Aigner-Swesey/Chelsea Cabrajac, LBSU def. Anja Licka/Maryna Samoday, FIU 21-19, 23-21
2) Anete Brinke/Tyler Jackson, LBSU def. Kristine Monfort/Summer Nash, FIU 21-17, 21-15
3) Jenelle Hudson/Bre Mackie, LBSU def. Marina Boulanger/Darija Sataric, FIU 21-18, 21-16
4) Anna Budinska/Martyna Gluchowicz, FIU def. Andrea McHugh/Ciana Wagner, LBSU 21-16, 22-20
5) Rachel Nieto/Sammee Thomas, LBSU def. Aren Cupp/Tina Toghiyani, FIU 21-13, 13-21, 15-12

Official Online Store