Skip to main content Skip to footer

Sand Volleyball Completes Regular Season

Janisa Johnson, along with Tyler Jackson, finished the 2013 season undefeated in pairs play.

April 21, 2013

Hermosa Beach, Calif. - Long Beach State closed out the 2013 regular season with the pairs tournament at the USAV Invitational, and Tyler Jackson and Janisa Johnson finished the regular season unbeaten, winning the Silver tournament on Sunday.

Following Tara Roenicke's injury on Saturday, the pairing of Caitlin Ledoux and Roenicke was held out of Saturday's play. That moved each of Long Beach State's pairs up a flight in the seeded tournaments.

Delainey Aigner-Swesey and Chelsea Cabrajac won their first match as the 49ers' top-seeded team, defeating LMU's Caitlin DeWitt and Taylor Scioscia 21-13, 21-4 before falling in the quarterfinals to Lara Dykstra and Caitlin Racich 22-20, 21-17. Bre Mackie and Libby Fontanilla lost their first match to Kirby Burnham and Stevi Robinson of USC, but defeated CSUB's No. 1 team of Shayna Guitare and Mariah Alvidrez in three sets 12-21, 22-20, 15-13.

The silver flight saw the two 49er teams with the best overall records competing, and their success continued on Sunday. Lauren Minkel and Jocelyn Neely defeated Avery Bush and Rachelle Suuava to advance out the first round, while Tyler Jackson and Janisa Johnson defeated USC's No. 3 team of Eve Ettinger and Bria Russ 21-18, 21-8 to move to the quarterfinal as well.



Neely and Minkel won easily over Karly Drolson and Rachel Inouye of UCLA 21-9, 21-10, while Jackson and Johnson defeated Lisa Bartch and Molly O'Hagan of CSU Bakersfield just as quickly in a 21-8, 21-10 win, setting up a semifinal between the two pairs. Jackson and Johsnon prevailed in that meeting, winning 21-16, 21-17 to advance to the finals.

The pair then completed an unbeaten regular season by upsetting the No. 3 pair of Pepperdine, beating Kelley Larsen and Kellie Woolever in a tremendous match, 23-21, 18-21, 15-11.

Pressed into action, Erin Juley and Alex Reid lost both of their matches, competing officially together for the first time in 2013 in the Bronze tournament.

The American Volleyball Coaches Association will announce the teams and pairs selected for the second AVCA Sand Volleyball National Championships tomorrow, April 21.

Gold Flight
Round of 16: Delainey Aigner-Swesey/Chelsea Cabrajac, LBSU def. Caitlin DeWitt/Taylor Scioscia LMU, 21-13, 21-4
Round of 16: Kirby Burnham/Stevi Robinson, USC def. Bre Mackie/Libby Fontanilla LBSU 21-7, 21-14
Consolation: Bre Mackie/Libby Fontanilla, LBSU def. Shayna Guitare/Mariah Alvidrez, CSUB 12-21, 22-20, 15-13
Quarterfinals: Lara Dykstra/Caitlin Racich, PEP def. Delainey Aigner-Swesey/Chelsea Cabrajac, LBSU 22-20, 21-17

Silver Flight
Round of 16: Lauren Minkel/Jocelyn Neely, LBSU def. Avery Bush/Rachelle Suuava, LMU 21-10, 21-4
Round of 16: Tyler Jackson/Janisa Johnson, LBSU def. Eve Ettinger/Bria Russ, USC 21-18, 21-8
Quarterfinals: Lauren Minkel/Jocelyn Neely, LBSU def. Karly Drolson/Rachel Inouye, UCLA 21-9, 21-10
Quarterfinals: Tyler Jackson/Janisa Johnson, LBSU def. Lisa Bartsch/Molly O'Hagan, CSUB 21-8, 21-10
Semifinals: Tyler Jackson/Janisa Johnson, LBSU def. Lauren Minkel/Jocelyn Neely, LBSU 21-16, 21-17
Finals: Tyler Jackson/Janisa Johnson, LBSU def. Kelley Larson/Kellie Woolever, PEP 23-21, 18-21, 15-11

Bronze Flight
Round of 16: Anne-Marie Taylor/Ashley Maxfeldt, LMU def. Erin Juley/Alex Reid, LBSU 21-19, 21-14
Consolation: Kelsee Sawyer/Star Tucker, CSUB def. Erin Juley/Alex Reid, LBSU 21-19, 21-19.

Official Online Store