Skip to main content Skip to footer

Kimbrough & Tautalafua Earn Big West Player of the Year Honors

Darian Tautalafua

May 14, 2013

All-Conference Release Get Acrobat Reader

Irvine, Calif. -- Shayna Kimbrough and Darian Tautalafua took home two of the top honors in the Big West as the Conference announced the 2013 All-Conference teams on Tuesday. Kimbrough was named the Player of the Year, while Tautalafua earned Freshman Field Player of the Year distinction.

Also earning top honors were Hawai'i's Kelly Majam (Defensive Player of the Year), Kaia Parnaby (Pitcher of the Year) and Bob Coolen (Coach of the Year), while Cal State Fullerton's Jazmine Antunez was named Freshman Pitcher of the Year.

Kimbrough (Oxnard, Calif./Frontier HS) became the fifth Long Beach State individual, and first since 2009, to earn the conference's award for top offensive player. Kimbrough ranked second in the Big West with a .374 batting average and led the league in hits (74). In addition, she tied for second league-wide in runs scored (39) and tied for seventh in stolen bases (13). Those numbers also placed her among some of the top single-season performances in LBSU history as she finished No. 2 in average, tied for No. 3 in hits and No. 5 in stolen bases. The sophomore shortstop compiled 19 multi-hit games and added the Apr. 29 Big West Field Player of the Week to her list of accomplishments this season.

Long Beach State secured its second Freshman Field Player of the Year in Tautalafua (Carson, Calif./Carson HS), on the heels of Jonae Perez in 2005. Tautalafua led the league circuit with 46 RBI, ranked second with 13 home runs and was third in walks (29). She broke the program's single-season record for RBI, while her 13 bombs tied for the second-most in school history. The outfielder tallied three multi-homer games and knocked in six runs on two separate occasions to tie the LBSU single-game RBI record. Tautalafua also earned Big West Field Player of the Week recognition two times this season.

Several other 49ers were also honored by being named to the first, second or honorable mention all-conference teams. Earning first-team accolades were pitcher Erin Jones-Wesley, Kimbrough, third baseman Hannah De Gaetano and Tautalafua. Catcher/designated player Karli Sandoval represented the 49ers earning second-team honors, while Sarah Carrasco (utility) and Nalani St. Germain (second baseman) received honorable mention accolades.



Official Online Store