Skip to main content Skip to footer

Arroyo named MPSF Coach of the Year

Arroyo earned his second Coach of the Year Award after leading the 49ers to their second-best finish in program history.

Nov. 27, 2012

MPSF All-Conference ReleaseGet Acrobat Reader

LONG BEACH, Calif. - Men's water polo coach Gavin Arroyo was named the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation Coach of the Year as the MPSF announced its All-Conference awards Tuesday. This is the second time Arroyo has been voted by his peers to receive this honor, the first coming in 2007 as Co-Coach of the year.

Arroyo, in his seventh season at Long Beach State, led the 49ers to their first MPSF Tournament appearance since 2008, finishing 2-1 and taking fifth-place. Arroyo also led the 49ers to their second-best finish in program history with a 24-8 record, including a 4-4 mark in conference-play.

Junior Dan Matulis earned second-team All-MPSF honors while five other 49ers earned All-MPSF Honorable Mention. Matulis claimed his first second-team All-MPSF award having led the 49ers in scoring with 69 on the season.

Senior Spencer White, freshman Nolan McConnell, junior Nick Rascon, Sophomore Milos Vrzic, and Sophomore Balint Meszaros all earned All-MPSF Honorable Mention for Long Beach State. Other than Rascon, who earned honorable mention as a freshman in 2010, this is the first time White, McConnell, Vrzic, and Meszaros have claimed honorable mention awards.

White, a transfer from Cal, was the 49ers second-leading scorer with 63 goals behind Matulis. True freshman McConnell recorded 47 goals in his first-season at Long Beach State. The Laguna Beach product was also second on the team with 15 multi-goal games. Vrzic led the 49ers with 17 goals during conference play to finish the season with 40, good for fourth on the team. Rascon who missed a third of the year, finished with 24 goals to earn his second honorable mention award. Meszaros rounds out the five LBSU players who earned honorable mention. The sophomore's 284 saves, broke the single-season saves record of 282 held by Derek Wiebe-Baily back in 2008.



Official Online Store