Skip to main content Skip to footer

Four Overtime Goals Lead 49ers Past No. 9 UC Irvine

Devin Mefford scored three goals for Long Beach State Sunday.

Oct. 13, 2013

Irvine, Calif. - Long Beach State outscored the Anteaters by two goals in the fourth quarter, and then tacked on four more in overtime as the 49ers rallied to defeat No. 9 UC Irvine 13-10 in extra time. Devin Mefford and Zacchary Kappos each had three goals for Long Beach State.

Dimitrios Lappas struck first for the 49ers as Long Beach State (16-5) took an early lead on the road. Both teams traded goals through the first half, and the 49ers entered the break even with UC Irvine (11-6) at 4-4.

UC Irvine took the edge in the third quarter, scoring the first two goals of the period. After a goal by Milos Vrzic, the Anteaters scored two more to open an 8-5 lead over the 49ers with 1:06 left in the third. Vrzic struck again in the final possession to help the 49ers close the gap however.

That momentum carried for Long Beach State in the fourth quarter, as Kappos pulled Long Beach State to within one at 8-7, and after Mitch Wise gave UCI a 9-7 lead with 5:54 to play, Kappos carried the 49esr to overtime, converting a penalty with 2:45 in the fourth and the tying the game at 9-9 to force extra time.

In the first over time, Devin Mefford put the 49ers in front for th first time since the first half by scoring the first goal, and after an equalizer from Wise, Mefford scored again to put the 49ers back in front, and then Ricardo Guimares scored with nine seconds to play in the first overtime to give Long Beach State an insurance goal.



The 49ers held UC Irvine scoreless in the second overtime period, while Joey Fabian extended Long Beach State's lead in the 13-10 win.

Long Beach State opens conference play against the same Anteaters on October 24, traveling back to the Anteater Aquartics Complex on October 24 for a 7 p.m. game.

No. 7 Long Beach State - 2, 2, 2, 3, 3, 1 | 13
No. 9 UC Irvine - 2, 2, 4, 1, 1, 0 | 10

LBSU: Zacchary Kappos 3, Devin Mefford 3, Joey Fabian 2, Milos Vrzic 2, Ricardo Guimares, Dimitrios Lappas, Nolan McConnell
UCI: Mitch Wise 4, Kyle Trush 2, Pablo Carballo, Jared Osborn, Justin Papa, Alan Robertson

LBSU: Pavo Ljepopio, 13
UCI: Alex Kazmier, 13

Official Online Store