Skip to main content Skip to footer

Men's Volleyball Will Hold Alumni Match This Saturday

Oct. 18, 2013

LONG BEACH - The Long Beach State men's volleyball team will be holding its alumni match this Saturday, Oct. 19, at the Walter Pyramid. The event is scheduled for a 3 p.m. start.

Fans can get a sneak peek at this year's team, while they will also see a number of familiar faces back at The Beach. There are at least 24 former 49ers expected to return to LBSU on Saturday, highlighted by Olympians David McKienzie and Brett Winslow. Winslow, who will have his No. 15 jersey retired in March, was also a member of the 49ers' 1991 national championship team and will be joined by four others from that squad.

The current 49ers will play the alumni in a best-of-three match.

Long Beach State is coming off a 24-8 campaign that culminated with a trip to the 2013 MPSF Tournament finals. LBSU brings back the core of last year's squad, including reigning AVCA National Player of the Year Taylor Crabb. The senior outside hitter, who was also a first-team All-American and first-team All-MPSF selection, finished the season ranked among the top-10 nationally in kills (4.18/set), points (4.71/set) and hitting percentage (.353).

Senior setter Connor Olbright also returns after earning second-team All-America honors. The other returning starters are senior outside hitter Dalton Ammerman, sophomore middle blocker Taylor Gregory and senior opposites Ian Satterfield and Jeff Ornee. Sophomore Andrew Sato and junior Ryan Windisch are also back as the 49ers' primary liberos. LBSU lost only one starter in middle blocker Colten Echave, who will be on the opposite side of the net this Saturday.



Former 49ers Expected at Alumni Match (Years Played)
Arnie Baddaley (1988-89)
Travis Barr (1993-96)
Jeremy Blain (1999-02)
Kevin Cape (2004-07)
Mike Cleugh (1990-92)
Geoff Cryst (1994-97)
Mike D'Alessandro (1980-82)
Colten Echave (2010-13)
Nate Hagstrom (2002-05)
Curt Hanson (1976-79)
Tyler Hildebrand (2003-06)
Tim Johnson (1991)
Mark Kerins (1987-90)
Andreas Koch (1984-87)
Neil Mason (1997-00)
David McKienzie (1998-01)
Paul Munoz (2002-05)
Tommy Pestolesi (2007-10)
Josh Riley (2008-11)
Brett Schroeder (1989-92)
Rich Valbuena (1977-81)
Tom Wade (1980)
Brett Winslow (1988-91)
Jeff Wootton (2001-04)

Official Online Store