Skip to main content Skip to footer

DeFalco, Tuaniga Named Co-Players of the Year

May 17, 2018

LONG BEACH – For Long Beach State men’s volleyball, the honors just continue to roll in. On Thursday, announced is All-Americans and the Beach had four players selected led by the junior duo of TJ DeFalco and Josh Tuaniga who were named Co-Players of the Year.

In addition to being named Co-Players of the Year, DeFalco and Tuaniga were also named to the First Team, while juniors Nick Amado and Kyle Ensing were named to the Second Team.

The duo were incredible all season as they helped Long Beach State win the 2018 National Championship with a 28-1 record while leading the nation with a .375 attack percentage.

DeFalco finished the year hitting .377 while registering 366 kills for an average of 3.62 per set. The outside hitter from Huntington Beach, Calif., was named Big West Conference Player of the Year after his outstanding regular season performance. He went on to be named to the NCAA All-Tournament team after tallying 16 kills on .361 hitting in the semifinals against Ohio State before following that performance up with a .419 clip with boasting an 18-kill, 12-dig effort in the championship match against UCLA.

Tuaniga, the Big West Tournament MVP and Most Outstanding Player of the NCAA Tournament, led the Beach offense to their highest attack percentage (.375) in the rally-scoring era (2001-present). The setter out of Long Beach, Calif., dished out 1033 assists to average 10.43 per set, while adding1.71 digs per set, 0.60 kills per set, and 0.41 blocks per set.

Amado garnered All-Second Team accolades after closing out the season ranking fifth in the nation in blocks per set 1.18. He also contributed 1.50 kills per set on .442 hitting (139-24-260).



Ensing took home All-Second Team honors as he finished the year with 3.55 kills per set to rank 18th in the country, while adding 0.85 blocks per set, 1.50 digs per set, and 0.36 aces per set on .355 hitting. All-Americans
Co-Players of the Year: TJ DeFalco and Josh Tuaniga, Long Beach State
Freshman of the Year: Gabi Garcia-Fernandez, BYU
Coach of the Year: John Speraw, UCLA

First Team All-Americans
Karl Apfelbach, UC Irvine
TJ DeFalco, Long Beach State
Daenan Gyimah, UCLA
Jeff Jendryk, Loyola
Micah Ma’a, UCLA
Brendan Sander, BYU
Scott Stadick, UC Irvine
Nicolas Szerszen, Ohio State
Josh Tuaniga, Long Beach State
Larry Tuileta, Hawaii
Stijn van Tilburg, Hawaii
David Wieczorek, Pepperdine

Second Team All-Americans
Nick Amado, Long Beach State
Jake Arnitz, UCLA
Ryan Coenen, Lewis
Leo Durkin, BYU
Evan Enriques, Stanford
Kyle Ensing, Long Beach State
Gabi Garcia Fernandez, BYU
Arvis Greene, CSUN
Maxime Hervoir, Ohio State
Aaron Koubi, UC Irvine
Brian Negron, George Mason
Joe Worsley, Hawaii

Honorable Mention
Kyle Barnes, George Mason
Eric Chance, CSUN
Corey Chavers, UC Santa Barbara
Patrick Gasman, Hawaii
Ricky Gevis, Loyola
Brad Gretsch, Harvard
Christian Hessenauer, UCLA
Hunter Howell, Concordia
George Huhmann, Princeton
Price Jarman, BYU
Jaylen Jasper, Stanford
Dimitar Kalchev, CSUN
Marko Kostich, Harvard
Collin Mahan, Loyola
Angelos Mandilaris, Barton
Matthew McLaren, Penn State
Calvin Mende, Penn State
Michael Simmons, Lewis
Tanner Syftestad, UC San Diego
Sanil Thomas, Ohio State
Hayden Wagner, George Mason
Matt Walsh, Ball State
Jack Wyett, USC
Garrett Zolg, Loyola

Official Online Store