Skip to main content Skip to footer

Long Beach State Men's Volleyball Earns Top Seed in NCAA Tournament

April 22, 2018

Photo Gallery

2018 NC Men's Volleyball Championship Bracket

A day after winning the Big West Championship with a three-set sweep over Hawaii, top-ranked Long Beach State earned the No. 1 seed in the NCAA Tournament. The announcement was made Sunday morning by the NCAA.

With a 26-1 overall record, the Beach received a bye into the NCAA Semifinals and will take on the winner of the first round match which features UC Irvine and the winner of the Ohio State-King match on Thursday, May 3 at 5 p.m. at Pauley Pavilion on the campus of UCLA.

Joining Long Beach State in the Tournament field are No. 2 seed BYU, as well as UCLA, UC Irvine, Ohio State, King, and Harvard.

Long Beach State earned an automatic bid into the tournament by capturing the Big West Championship in its inaugural season. The 2018 season has been a record-setting one for the Beach as they kicked off the year on a program-best 24-match winning streak and finished the regular season with a perfect 12-0 record at home. Additionally, LBSU has tallied 19 three-set sweeps just one shy of the single-season record.

The Beach are led by a core group of players led by Big West Player of the Year TJ DeFalco and Big West Tournament MVP Josh Tuaniga. DeFalco and Tuaniga, along with Nick Amado and Kyle Ensing, earned First Team All-Big West Honors, while Bjarne Huus and Simon Anderson were Honorable Mention selections. Anderson was also selected to the All-Freshman Team.

As a team, Long Beach State leads the nation with a .379 attack percentage and are tops in the Big West in hitting, opponent hitting percentage (.181), and aces per set (1.83).

At the helm of Long Beach State is Big West Coach of the Year Alan Knipe who has led the Beach to their fifth trip to the NCAA Tournament during his tenure. Long Beach State will make its 10th overall appearance in the NCAA Tournament.



Official Online Store