Skip to main content Skip to footer

Jerry Tarkanian to be Inducted Into Naismith Memorial Hall of Fame

Jerry Tarkanian

April 9, 2013

Jerry Tarkanian, the winningest coach in Long Beach State history, will be one of 12 inductees into the Naismith Memorial Hall of Fame for 2013. Tarkanian, who ended his coaching career at UNLV, was one of seven honorees named on Monday.

He joins Roger Brown, Dr. E.B. Henderson, Oscar Schmidt, Richard Guerin, Russ Granik, Gary Payton, Bernard King, Guy V. Lewis, Rick Pitino, Sylvia Hatchell and Dawn Staley in the 2013 class.

Known as one of the most passionate coaches in the game of basketball, Tarkanian recorded 990 wins during his career with an 81% winning percentage that included leading the University of Nevada-Las Vegas to four NCAA Final Four appearances (1977, 1987, 1990 and 1991) and the 1990 NCAA Championship. During his career, he led three different schools to NCAA Tournament appearances (UNLV, Fresno State and Long Beach State), including 21 post season appearances, 14 NCAA tournaments, 13 Sweet Sixteen appearances, seven Elite Eights, 17 conference championships and four 30-plus win seasons. Tarkanian is a four-time National Coach of the Year (1977 Kodak; 1983 UPI; 1984, 1990 Basketball Times). At the junior college level, he still owns the highest winning percentage of all-time at .891. He has coached 44 future NBA prospects including 12 First Round draft picks. Off the court, he was the recipient of the Roy Campanella Humanitarian Award and the Dream a Dream Foundation Inspiration Award - the only basketball coach to receive the award.

For more information on the Naismith Memorial Hall of Fame, click here.



Official Online Store