Skip to main content Skip to footer

Ennis Named a Finalist for Top MId-Major Player of the Year Award

James Ennis

Feb. 25, 2013

BOSTON, Mass. -- The twenty-five finalists for the 2013 Lou Henson Award were announced on Monday. The award is presented annually to the top mid-major player in college basketball and Long Beach State's own James Ennis has been named a finalist. He is the only player from the Big West Conference to be named a finalist.

Ennis is currently riding a 32-consecutive game double-digit scoring streak, has had six double-doubles and seven games above 20 points this season. He is averaging 17.5 points/game, 6.7 rebounds/game and is shooting 84% from the free throw line.

For the second straight year is working with Point3 Basketball to promote the Lou Henson award "fan vote," which will constitute 33% of the final vote.

The Lou Henson Award is presented annually to the top Mid-Major player in Division I college basketball. The award is named in honor of Lou Henson who retired after a spectacular coaching career that lasted 41 years. When he left the game in 2005 he was sixth all-time in career Division I wins with 779. He is the winningest coach at both Illinois and New Mexico State. He is one of only 12 coaches in the history of the game to take two schools to the Final Four.

The 2013 Award will be presented at the awards banquet in Atlanta, site of the men's NCAA Basketball Championship.

Travis Bader, 6-5, Jr., Oakland
Billy Baron, 6-2, Jr., Canisius
Jerrelle Benimon, 6-8, Jr., Towson
Tommy Brenton, 6-5, Sr., Stony Brook
Ryan Broekhoff, 6-7, Sr., Valparaiso
Isaiah Canaan, 6-1, Sr., Murray State
Jackie Carmichael, 6-9, Sr., Illinois State
Will Cherry, 6-1, Sr., Montana
Ian Clark, 6-3, Sr., Belmont
Jake Cohen, 6-10, Sr., Davidson
D.J. Cooper, 6-0, Sr., Ohio
Matthew Dellavedova, 6-4, Sr., Saint Mary's
James Ennis, 6-7, Sr., Long Beach
Juan'ya Green, 6-3, So., Niagara
Tyler Haws, 6-5, So., BYU
Lamont Jones, 6-0, Sr., Iona
Jake Odum, 6-4, Jr., Indiana State
Jamal Olasewere, 6-7, Sr., LIU-Brooklyn
Zeke Marshall, 7-0, Sr., Akron
Ray McCallum, 6-3, Jr., Detroit
Doug McDermott, 6-8, Jr., Creighton
Mike Muscala, 6-11, Sr., Bucknell
Augustine Rubit, 6-7, Jr., South Alabama
Taylor Smith, 6-6, Sr., Stephen F. Austin
Nate Wolters, 6-4, Sr., South Dakota State



For more information on the Lou Henson Award, click here.

Official Online Store