Skip to main content Skip to footer

Enriquez Selected For NCAA Cross Country Championships

Junior Chris Enriquez was selected to participate in the 2013 NCAA Cross Country Championships on Nov. 23 in Terre Haute, Ind. (Photo by John Fajardo/LBSU)

Nov. 16, 2013

2013 NCAA Division I Cross Country Championship Information

INDIANAPOLIS - Long Beach State junior Chris Enriquez was selected to participate for the 2013 NCAA Division I Cross Country Championships in Terre Haute, Ind., the NCAA Division I Men's and Women's Track & Field Committee announced on Saturday.

Enriquez finished in 10th place on Friday at the NCAA West Regional in Sacramento, covering the 10,000-meter course at Haggin Oaks Golf Club in a time 29:55, finishing the same time behind Big West Conference men's champion Chris Frias of Cal Poly.

The Downey, Calif., native finished 20 seconds behind individual champion Edward Cheserek of Oregon as he led the group of 187 runners to a time of 29:35. Enriquez finished behind four runners from the Pacific-12 Conference as Stanford had runners place second and third and Oregon came away with the champion Cheserek and fifth.

Enriquez became the first 49er in over 25 years to advance to the NCAA Cross Country Championships.

Thirty-one teams were selected to participate in each championship. The top two, seven-person teams automatically qualified from each of the nine regions, for a total of 18 teams. Thirteen additional teams were selected at-large.

Thirty-eight individuals were selected to participate in each championship through an automatic qualifier and at-large selection process. All individual qualifiers finished in the top 25 in their region.

"Chris prepares as well as any athlete I have been around," 49er distance coach Patrick Wales-Dinan said. "We made this race the primary goal for the season and geared all of his preparation toward being ready for the 10K. On race day, he executed a flawless race plan and finished ahead of some of the best athletes in the nation. He's ready to compete with anyone."

The NCAA Men's and Women's Cross Country Championships hosted by Indiana State, will take place on Saturday, Nov. 23, at the Wabash Valley Family Sports Center in Terre Haute, Ind. The men's race is slated for a 9 a.m. (PST) start.

Men's Individual Qualifiers

West Region
Jeff Howard, Boise State
Aaron Nelson, Washington
Chris Frias, Cal Poly
Chris Enriquez, LONG BEACH STATE
Eric Causey, San Francisco

Great Lakes Region

John Mascari, Indiana State
Matt McClintock, Purdue
Caleb Rhynard, Michigan State
Tom Curr, Butler

Southeast Region
Paul Chelimo, North Carolina-Greensboro
Thomas Curtin, Virginia Tech
Paul Katam, North Carolina-Greensboro
Tyler Byrne, Louisville
Ernest Kibet, Louisville

Mid-Atlantic Region
Andrew Springer, Georgetown
Matt Fischer, Penn State
Thomas Awad, Penn
Tyler Mueller, Lehigh

Midwest Region
Trent Lusignan, South Dakota State
Jannis Topfer, Illinois
Mohamed Hrezi, Iowa State
Reid Buchanan, Kansas

Mountain Region
Kennedy Kithuka, Texas Tech
Anthony Rotich, UTEP
Ryan Barrus, Southern Utah
Garrett Zans, Wyoming

Northeast Region
Kevin Dooney, Yale
Kelton Cullenberg, Maine
Wesley Gallagher, Northeastern
Craig Hunt, Central Connecticut

South Region
Ty McCormack, Auburn
Peter Okwera, Tennessee
Matt Miller, Belmont
Bryant Blahnik, Florida State

South Central Region
Matt Johnsen, Lamar
Isaac Spencer, Texas A&M
Ash Harrell, Lamar
Will Firth, Rice

Men's Automatic Qualifying Teams

Eastern Kentucky
Northern Arizona
Oklahoma State

Men's At-Large Teams

Air Force
Colorado State
New Mexico
North Carolina
NC State
Notre Dame



Official Online Store