Skip to main content Skip to footer

LBSU Cross Country/Track & Field Will Hold Annual Banquet on Saturday, Jan. 18

Jan. 16, 2014

LONG BEACH - The Long Beach State cross country/track & field program will hold its annual banquet at The Grand on Saturday, Jan. 18. Registration is closed, but athlete sponsorships are still available.

For information on sponsoring a student-athlete, or table, please contact Kyle Shawgo at (562) 985-4550 or

Over 220 individuals are expected to be in attendance to honor the 2013 teams. The men's track & field squad provided one of the highlights of the year, winning their fourth Big West title, and second in three years. The 49ers had four individual conference champions - Gabe Hilbert (800m), Davon Wilson-Angel (110m Hurdles), Josh Villalobos (Hammer) and Jacob Fraser (Discus). They also claimed two major awards with head coach Andy Sythe being named the Big West Men's Coach of the Year for the fourth time in his career, and Willie Alexander being tabbed the Big West Men's Freshman of the Year. Alexander was an all-conference performer in the triple jump and long jump, and went on to qualify for the NCAA Championships in the latter event where he earned All-America distinction.

The men sent a total of 13 individuals to the NCAA West Preliminaries, including multi-event qualifiers Willie Alexander and Jacob Fraser.



The women's track & field team beat their ranking going into the conference meet as they finished fifth overall. They had seven athletes earn All-Big West honors, including Taylor Jackson, who placed among the top-three in the conference in both the heptathlon and the long jump. The women's 4x400 relay team comprised of Jasmine Askew, Emily Cooper, Saedra Wright and Taylor Lorack, also took third after clocking in with a school record. Cooper (200m), Jackson (Long Jump) and Meghan Foley (1500m) all qualified for the NCAA West Preliminaries.

Overall, the men and women combined to send 16 individuals to the NCAA West Preliminaries, while also establishing five school records during the indoor and outdoor seasons.

In the fall, it was the Long Beach State men's and women's cross country teams' turn to shine. Both squads placed fourth overall at the Big West Championships, marking their highest finish since 2011. Individually, Hillary Zator and Chris Enriquez earned all-conference honors with their respective top-10 showings.

Enriquez went on to become the first 49er in the modern era of NCAA cross country (since 1980) to earn an individual berth to the national championships. He advanced to the NCAA Cross Country Championships after taking 10th at the West Regionals.

Long Beach State cross country and track & field also excelled in the classroom with all four squads earning USTFCCCA All-Academic Team honors. The women's cross country team has received the recognition every year since the 1990s.

Individually, Gabe Hilbert, Matt Maldonado, Garrett Demirjian, Michael Vaughan, Emily Cooper and Meghan Foley garnered 2013 USTFCCCA All-Academic accolades.

In addition to honoring the program's 2013 achievements, LBSU will have the opportunity to introduce its new staff members at the banquet. Former 49er All-American Greg Magee was recently hired as the horizontal jumps coach after the retirement of long-time assistant Dave Rodda. Long Beach State has also added a handful of volunteer assistants, including Colin Dunbar, Ben Woodruff and Sara Macey, along with a new director of operations in Jason Reyes.

Last, but not least, Long Beach State will honor its 2013 senior class.


Alisia Barajas
Alexandra Cervantes
Janelle Coulter
Rosa Del Toro
Prism Garcia
Taylor Goto
Wendy Izquierdo
Amanda Klinchuch
Sara Macey
Nina Moore
Goziam Okolie
Annie Randall
Michelle Thompson

Joel Baez
Jake Dawson
Michael Hallburn
Bret Hasvold
Gabe Hilbert
Elijah Landry-Zapien
Jared Long
Matt Maldonado
Michael Vaughan
Josh Villalobos
Chris Yates

Official Online Store