Skip to main content Skip to footer

49ers post top-10 finishes at adidas/UC Irvine Cross Country Invitational

Nina Moore was Long Beach State's top finisher as she placed seventh overall with a season-best 17:43.7.

Men's Results

Women's Results

Photo Gallery

IRVINE, Calif. - In their second meet of the season, the Long Beach State cross country teams both posted top-10 finishes at the adidas/UC Irvine Invitational, which was held at the ARC Sports Fields Saturday morning.

The 49er women were sixth out of 14 teams with 169 points, while the men came in eighth out of 19 teams with 238 points.

In the women's 5K, Nina Moore was LBSU's top runner as she placed seventh overall with a season-best 17:43.7. Moore was the first individual to cross the finish line who wasn't part of the 11th-ranked Arkansas team.

Michelle Thompson added an 11th-place showing and also registered a season-best 17:53.1. She was followed by Madison D'Ornellas (44th), Prism Garcia (63rd) and Catherine Martinez (67th).

Jared Long paced the Long Beach State men in the 8K, running a season-best 25:57.2 to come in 15th. Chris Enriquez clocked in with a season-best 26:22.8 to finish 32nd overall, while Arturo Trejo also shaved four seconds off his time from the Mark Covert Classic in Brea last weekend, crossing the finish line in 39th place (26:31.3).

Gabe Hilbert (27:54.8), Nick Kelley (28:07.1) and Chris Low (28:09.9) rounded out the 49er group on the men's side.

Long Beach State travels to San Diego next weekend for the Aztec Invitational on Saturday, Sept. 15. The meet will be held at Balboa Park.

adidas/UC Irvine Invitational
ARC Sports Fields - Irvine, Calif.
Saturday, Sept. 8, 2012

LBSU Women's 5K Results
Team Finish: 6th out of 14 (169 points)

7. Nina Moore (17:43.7)
11. Michelle Thompson (17:53.1)
44. Madison D'Ornellas (19:04.2)
63. Prism Garcia (19:25.2)
67. Catherine Martinez (19:28.3)

LBSU Men's 8K Results
Team Finish: 8th out of 19 (238 points)

15. Jared Long (25:57.2)
32. Chris Enriquez (26:22.8)
39. Arturo Trejo (26:31.3)
117. Gabe Hilbert (27:54.8)
131. Nick Kelley (28:07.1)
134. Chris Low (28:09.9)



Official Online Store