Skip to main content Skip to footer

Eight 49ers named to MPSF Indoor Track & Field All-Academic Team

Katrina Graves-Johnson earned her third consecutive MPSF Indoor All-Academic honor.

April 9, 2012

MPSF Men's Indoor Track & Field All-Academic Team

MPSF Women's Indoor Track & Field All-Academic Team

LONG BEACH - Eight 49ers were named to the 2012 Mountain Pacific Sports Federation Indoor Track & Field All-Academic Team the conference office announced Monday afternoon.

Six women were recognized, including Katrina Graves-Johnson, who was the runner-up in the high jump at the MPSF Indoor Championships back in February. This is the third-straight year Graves-Johnson has been an all-academic selection.

Also earning their third all-academic awards were Janelle Coulter (high jump) and Kristen Kiefer (pentathlon). Kiefer established a school-record 3,585 points in the pentathlon at the conference meet.

Kayla Kamaka was named to the MPSF Indoor All-Academic Team for the second time, while Alexandrea Kruthers (sprints) and Shari Harris (throws) were first-time honorees.

Matt Maldonado and Michael Vaughan both represented the 49er men on the all-academic team for the second time in their careers. Maldonado was the MPSF champion in the mile run with a school-record 3:59.08, while Vaughan notched a lifetime-best 48-03.50 in the triple jump at the conference meet.



To be eligible for the MPSF All-Academic Team, student-athletes must maintain a minimum 3.0 cumulative grade point average, be at least a sophomore academically, have completed one full academic year at their institution and must have competed in a minimum of 50 percent of the team's competition.

Official Online Store