Skip to main content Skip to footer

Fifteen 49ers Named to MPSF Indoor Track & Field All-Academic Team

Senior Matt Maldonado, who owns LBSU's indoor record in the mile, earned his third career MPSF all-academic award.

April 5, 2013

MPSF Men's Indoor Track & Field All-Academic Team Get Acrobat Reader

MPSF Women's Indoor Track & Field All-Academic Team Get Acrobat Reader

LONG BEACH - Fifteen 49ers have been named to the 2013 Mountain Pacific Sports Federation Indoor Track & Field All-Academic Team the conference office announced Friday.

Eleven men were recognized, including senior co-captain Michael Vaughan, who garnered his third career all-academic award. Vaughan was also recently named Long Beach State's 2012 Big West Male Scholar Athlete of the Year. During the 2013 campaign, he won the triple jump at the Air Force Team Challenge with a lifetime-best 48-10, which ranks fifth in school history.

Senior co-captain Matt Maldonado also picked up his third academic honor from the MPSF. Maldonado is the school-record holder in the mile as he became the only 49er in program history to register a sub-four time after winning the 2012 conference title in a personal-record 3:59.08.

Joel Baez (throws), Jake Dawson (distances), Garrett Demirjian (multi-events), Jacob Fraser (throws), Brandon Hierholzer (pole vault), Gabe Hilbert (mid-distances), Koree Hines (hurdles), Connor Naasz (mid-distances) and Josh Villalobos (throws) were also first-time honorees.

On the women's side, Alexandrea Kruthers (sprints) picked up her second career MPSF all-academic honor, while Chelsea Hairanian (sprints), Iesha Iwobi (hurdles/jumps) and Michelle Thompson (distances) were first-time selections.

To be eligible for the MPSF All-Academic Team, student-athletes must maintain a minimum 3.0 cumulative grade point average, be at least a sophomore academically, have completed one full academic year at their institution and must have competed in a minimum of 50 percent of the team's competition.



Official Online Store