Athletics News

Long Beach State Claims Fourth Straight Big West Commissioner's Cup

Long Beach State won the Big West's top honor for the fourth straight season, and has now won five of the last six.

May 28, 2014

Long Beach, Calif. - On the strength of three spring championships, Long Beach State was able to pull in front of Cal Poly and claim the Big West Commissioner's Cup for the fourth consecutive season, awarded to the top athletics program in the conference.

Long Beach State continues a strong run, claiming a fourth straight Commissioner's Cup, and a sixth in school history, as well as the fifth in the last six years.

Big West championships in Women's Tennis, Softball, and Men's Track and Field helped propel LBSU to a 124.3 point average, edging Cal Poly's 123.3 score which tied the narrowest margin of victory in the 16 years of the competition.

Following Long Beach State and the Mustangs, UC Irvine was third, followed by UC Davis and UC Santa Barbara, with Cal State Northridge, Hawai'i, Cal State Fullerton, and UC Riverside rounding off the competition.

Only three schools have ever won the Commissioner's Cup, with Pacific taking the first two beginning in the 1998-99 season, and Long Beach State and UC Santa Barbara earning the award in each season since, with the Gauchos winning eight times while Long Beach State has now taken six.

The winner of the Commissioner's Cup is determined with weighted averages of Big West sponsored sports, with the conference champion earning an additional 20 points. Long Beach State competes in the Big West for 14 of its 19 NCAA Division I programs.

More Headlines
Player of the Week
McCaughan Throws Complete Game At Pepperdine
Baseball | Junior


Junior Darren McCaughan tossed a complete game, allowing two hits on Saturday as the Dirtbags earned a 2-1 win at Pepperdine. McCaughan retired the final 21 batters he faced, finishing with seven strikeouts in his second career complete game.

NEXT GAME: Tuesday, March 21 at San Diego State

LAST WEEK'S WINNER: Anna Kim, Women's Basketball

Official Online Store

Follow us!